I was thinking that a superhero really isn't all that different from normal people (excluding the cool ability to fly and all that. But soon we will have personal jetpacks so that will be a moot point anyway.) Really, they are just people who are able to overcome certain issues and get the job done. Look at Thor -- he finally figured out that there are more important things than what we want to happen, and that the bigger picture usually is more important. Green Lantern learned that courage isn't the absence of fear, it's doing what needs done even though you're terrified. Batman kinda took a page out of Thor's book and saw the bigger picture, but he also had the compassion and love to do what was truly needed, regardless of the impact it had on him. Then you've got Professor X. Dude, that guy really has his head on straight. He continued to push for peaceful relations between groups of people even after he was threatened, mocked, slandered against, etc.
All of this is starting to sound like another superhero, who really isn't so different than us. At least, we're not so different from him that he doesn't want us to try and imitate him. Now this guy saw the big picture. I'm pretty sure he was terrified at least once or twice, but he got the job done. His head was on straight as well -- he was constantly advocating that everyone put aside their massive egos and just try to get along. He did what was desperately needed, even though it had a huge impact on him (and not in a plesant way, either.). He saw what needed to be done, and he had the love and compassion to do it. He is probably the ultimate superhero, and while he didn't fly around with a cape (although he did walk on water), his power is deeply felt in the lives of those who want it. And we have the opportunity to remember how he started out -- as a baby, just like each of us. And as he grew to be great, so can we. We all have a superhero inside us, and we can reach that potential because of the SUPERHERO.
Backgroud
Sunday, December 16, 2012
Tuesday, November 20, 2012
Thursday, November 1, 2012
Captian FORWARD!
I have made a discovery. Looking forward to something makes my whole day, no week, no MONTH, better. I have decided that this must be one of the lesser known super heros. That must be how happy people do it. You know, those people that never seem to stop moving? The ones that are joyful all the time? They must know Captina FORWARD better than I do. Because when I have something to look forward to, I feel like one of those people.
I have made a resolve to have one thing every week that I am really looking forward to. To be honest it sounds exhausting... but I think I would be much happier that way.
I have made a resolve to have one thing every week that I am really looking forward to. To be honest it sounds exhausting... but I think I would be much happier that way.
Envy....The Green One Who Lurks Deep Within
I was thinking about a supervillain today. His name (her name?) is envy. That's the only name I could come up with, but I don't think that's right. Let me try to explain. Have you ever wished you were someone else? Like REALLY wished, because in comparison, you are pathetic and dull and ungly and thoroughly uninteresting. You start to wish with all your heart that you were a little more _____. And it doesn't matter how you finish that sentence -- each version is as unattainable as the last, because you are you, and that's how it's staying. I think we each fight this villainess each day in our own way. She's very clever. She knows what you crave, and makes it so that's all that you notice. "If only I were thinner", "If I were pretty", "I wish people would like me", "Why can't I be more outgoing?" are some of her specialties. I'm not sure how to vanquish her as of yet, but I know she doesn't like being ignored. Ironically, ignoring her makes each of us happier.
Sunday, July 29, 2012
Willpower
.....I don't have much when it comes to certain things. Especially if those certain things contain gluten and carbohydrates. So, if I were the Green Lantern, Sinestro would only need to wave some bread in my face and I would totally do whatever he wanted.
I was thinking, though. Maybe how to increase willpower is to basically pretend not to have it. Think about it -- how do you immunize someone against tyhpoid? YOU GIVE THEM THE FREAKING DISEASE! Mind you, it's a deadened, attenuated version of it. Perhaps the same goes with superpowers, or super-weaknesses. I'm pretty sure that if Superman were to hang around kryptonite for 10 minutes a day, he'd desensitize. SO...I'm thinking that since I have lousy willpower in some aspects of my life, I'm slowly desensitizing to the point that I will be someday UNSTOPPABLE! Someday....
I was thinking, though. Maybe how to increase willpower is to basically pretend not to have it. Think about it -- how do you immunize someone against tyhpoid? YOU GIVE THEM THE FREAKING DISEASE! Mind you, it's a deadened, attenuated version of it. Perhaps the same goes with superpowers, or super-weaknesses. I'm pretty sure that if Superman were to hang around kryptonite for 10 minutes a day, he'd desensitize. SO...I'm thinking that since I have lousy willpower in some aspects of my life, I'm slowly desensitizing to the point that I will be someday UNSTOPPABLE! Someday....
Thursday, July 26, 2012
WallMan
I met a new superhero today. WallMan. It sounds a lot like Walmart… but he is nothing like that.
Remember when you first started running and you realized
that the HARDEST part about long distance was when you “hit-the-wall.” It is at
the moment that you have a real decision to make. Do I stop because my mind and
body are screaming at me to stop? Or do I believe in myself enough to continue.
Dun Da Na Non! {Imagine Kara thinking really hard about how
to spell a trumpet introduction for WallMan}
WallMan to the rescue! He is a little bit like a cheerleader,
but deeper. And a lot more useful. The hardest
part it listening to him. He is like your mom you see, when he tells you that “you
can do it!” and “you’re awesome!” but you know… you don’t really listen to them
all the time?
But then the one time you do…
You can do amazing things… Like work 50 hours before lunch
on Thursday…. Or maybe 70 hours by the time you go home Friday night. That or
eat that giant 50oz hamburger. Those are his specialties.
The funny thing is that he has side effects. The further
past the Wall you get the more goofy and frustrated you get. There are also perception
issues where it becomes difficult to do simple math such as “10% of 1512” or
12*3. (By the way those DO NOT equal 15.12 and 48 respectively, I know from experience).
Sooner or later you will find your self
doing an impression of the Muppets MaNaMaNa
dressed in your pumpkin head cleanroom suit. It isn’t good.
You might think this is a disappointment that a superhero
would have a bad side, but think about it they all do. Superman and his skintight
pants, batman and the ugly “villain” voice he uses, Spiderman and his … nope…
he is perfect. The point is, don’t be hatin’ Mr. WallMan because he makes you
into a loopy fool, just enjoy it!
Wednesday, July 18, 2012
Cognitive
This is an essential characteristic of a superhero. To be alert and aware and present.
Not like I have been since Friday..
But today was different. I went to sleep at 1 am last night... thinking "here we go again" just KNOWING that today would be miserable again... But it wasn't! I woke up bright eyed and bushytailed! There can be only 2 reasons for this.
1- I took drugs right before a fell asleep. I try to avoid taking drugs at all costs. I take them if the doc tells me to and I take them when i am in pain and can't handle it. But right before I got o sleep, I figure... I am asleep right? So why force my body onto drugs it doesn't need and could only be addictive and harmful? Well last night I did it. and I think i got the BEST night's sleep because of it. I believe my body was able to rest... So after only 4 hours of sleep, I was ready to go!
2- nope... there is no other reason. It must be the first one.
So when I woke up this morning NOT in pain... I didn't take ANY pain meds! I feel like I know what it going on, and like I can think! it is a glorious feeling.
Not like I have been since Friday..
But today was different. I went to sleep at 1 am last night... thinking "here we go again" just KNOWING that today would be miserable again... But it wasn't! I woke up bright eyed and bushytailed! There can be only 2 reasons for this.
1- I took drugs right before a fell asleep. I try to avoid taking drugs at all costs. I take them if the doc tells me to and I take them when i am in pain and can't handle it. But right before I got o sleep, I figure... I am asleep right? So why force my body onto drugs it doesn't need and could only be addictive and harmful? Well last night I did it. and I think i got the BEST night's sleep because of it. I believe my body was able to rest... So after only 4 hours of sleep, I was ready to go!
2- nope... there is no other reason. It must be the first one.
So when I woke up this morning NOT in pain... I didn't take ANY pain meds! I feel like I know what it going on, and like I can think! it is a glorious feeling.
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)
